Matthews a strong second to MacKinnon in Lady Byng vote

Nathan MacKinnon of the Colorado Avalanche was named the winner of the Lady Byng Trophy on Friday night, beating out Auston Matthews of the Maple leafs and Ryan O’Reilly of the St. Louis Blues.

Doug Pensinger / Getty Images

Auston Matthews was named on 21 first-place ballots, but Nathan MacKinnon had the most bang for his Byng votes.

The Colorado Avalanche forward was announced Friday night as winner of the Lady Byng Trophy for good behaviour combined with a high standard of play. He finished with 64 first-place nods, pre-playoffs, from the Professional Hockey Writers Association for 984 points to Matthews’ 616 and 561 for third-place finalist Ryan O’Reilly of St. Louis.

Matthews had the fewest penalty minutes of the trio (four minors to MacKinnon’s five), but the latter had a 93-point season to the Leafs centre’s 70, putting the Avs’ star fifth in the NHL.

Matthews had also garnered some support for the Frank Selke Trophy as top defensive forward earlier in the week, including one first-place vote.

He was trying to become the first Leaf to win the Byng since Alex Mogilny in 2003 and just the second since back-to-back recipient Dave Keon in 1962 and ’63.

Also getting some scattered votes from second to fifth were teammates William Nylander and Mitch Marner.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *